Refusing to eat *after* molting

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rcgordon

Reaction score
I am a little new to this, so pardon me if I display some ignorance here.

We have a Budwing mantis, that we got a couple of months ago, not sure of the exact age. Her wings showed up with the most recent molt. They are not full-size so I assume it is a female -- unless it is a male and the wings will be full-sized after the next molt?

Anyhow, everything went perfectly in the molt as far as I could tell. I actually got to see it happen this time. The problem is that it was four days ago, and she has refused to eat since. She just looks at her prey, and if it gets too close she bats at it, the way she did before the molt. I have tried feeding her some honey several times, but after a little bit of that she just bats it away too. She even gave me her startle display at one point when she got irritated at the honey. This seems very unusual since she is usually very aggressive and goes after her prey.

Otherwise she seems normal. When I have her out she is very interested in her surroundings, likes crawling around on my hands and does not seem to lack energy. Just appetite.

Have others had this experience, and if so, is this something to worry about?

That is an adult female. It is normal not to eat for a few days after molting. ALso, you should not handle a mantis that has molted until about a week later.

OK, Plucky is back to eating now.