Springtail Culturing

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bananaman

Reaction score
Im a bit of lurker here at mantid forum (I mostly keep dart frogs), recently I saw a post about someone inquiring about springtail culturing. I didnt see any posts regarding them so i thought I'd add my experience with them. First off I am by no means an expert but I have kept springtails for years with reasonable success and they are easy to culture. They should be great for nymphs although i have very little mantid experience.

There are many different types - the springs I have are:

Folsomia (white) - highest producing, small

Sinella - slightly larger than the folsomia and much faster moving

Tomocerus (black) - largest

Here is a picture for reference (not mine) of folsomia and tomocerus next to a young pinhead cricket.

tomocerus.jpg

There are generally two ways I have found that people culture these. One is a method where you use water and charcoal and one uses moist coco fiber/chips. Both have advantages and disadvantages. I use the coco method (more popular). Regarding the charcoal method, the folsomia (whites) float on the water and climb on chunks of charcoal - to harvest them many people use a turkey baster, suck up water and springs, and dump in the tank. The coco substrate method is very simple as well. I use some medium sized gladware and fill it up 2/3 of the way (at least 2 inches) with coco fiber (I use eco earth) or chips. I think the larger springtails benefit from having coco chips used or mixed in with the coco fiber creating a more porous substrate. Different springs like different levels of humidity. The folsomia seem to do well in most conditions from lightly moist to wet where as the tomocerus do better for me when left on the dryer side.