Violin Mantis Nymph Food HELP!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jinpark

Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm a beginner and I just received a violin mantis and I thought my pet stores sells fruit flies but they don't!

What can I feed my violin nymph? It is only about 2cm!!!! I don't think it can eat crickets. Maybe earthworms but I also read that they don't like crawling creatures :(

Can anyone suggest me what I can feed it?

bare in mind that I'm a newbie myself and my advice is only worth a grain of salt...

go back to the petstore in the morning and see if they have any pinhead crickets. if not ask for smalls...order something like 100, and then pick through them and use only the tinyest ones.

then get online and order some fruitflys. you will need overnight shipping.

use only the smallest of containers for your new mantids and have a stick that they can get to the bottom of it to get the cricket. also only one mantid per deli cup until you get some food, to help with canabilisum at this time.

Harry

Last edited by a moderator:
If it's not too cold where you are at, you can squish some banana inside a container and leave it somewhere for flying fruit flies to enter into the container to eat the banana and you could use those temporarily. Meanwhile make sure you order fruit flies online ASAP. If it is too cold where you are at then this information is useless and your Violin Mantis will probably just eat each other until you find them some food.

I'd say (a) order from mantisplace.com whatever is appropriate (probably House Flies). If they're L1 or L2, hop on Google Maps and type in "pet store" and "reptile" and start calling around. I find if they sell reptiles, there's a fair chance they'll sell fruit flies or know who does.

Mine only needed House flies for L1-L3, and then all Blue Bottles from there.

Good luck! And Go-Go-Gongy!