Virginian just discovering the joy of mantids

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perendinater

Reaction score
Hi all,

I just found this forum and thought I'd introduce myself, as it seems the thing to do.

My name is John and I’m a professional computer geek, with a second job teaching a psychology course at a small local college. That tells you my two college majors. My minor was in religion. My hobbies include nature photography, tennis, and volunteering with youth. Every once in a while I’ll pick up my bagpipes, which I once played competitively but now play only for friends’ weddings and the like.

Of course, other than taking pictures of them, or enthusiastically teaching boy scouts about them, none of this has anything to do with my lifelong love of critters. Sometimes I think I should have become a biologist, then have found a way to earn a paycheck while identifying undiscovered species in remote rainforests. But alas, for now I must be content with what I can discover here in southeastern Virginia.

Fortunately, a few weeks ago I discovered a 4 inch long, bright green mantid standing guard in the middle of a nighttime tennis court. Recklessly violating everything I was taught as a child about these “endangered species” I brought it home with me, and quickly fell in love. After much searching online, I finally observed the vivid orange spot between his front coxae and concluded he's a Narrow Winged Mantis. Hands down, this guy has the coolest personality of any insect I've ever caught. His apparent curiosity, general boldness, and quirky habits combine with that articulating neck to give him an expressive personality unmatched by any insect I know of.