what mantis?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hardshell

Reaction score
hey guys! i have no experience in mantis but i got little experience in vinegaroon, beetles and plants..

so i am saving up money for a new pet and ive been thinking of getting a mantis...

i dont want plain green one... i want unquie, fierce, active one

so i saw ghost mantis which looked cool and easy! also what other easy species do you recommend? i would love some bark mantis :3 ( my favorite)

are bark mantis easy to breed, keep?

thanks for helping me out :)

also tell me if you are willing to sell some cool looking species later

Hi,

I would suggest either P. Paradoxa (ghost mantis) or a creobroter species (flower mantis) to you. Flower mantises, though they aren't one of the largest, they are active hunters and have a voracious appetite. I've seen one of my creos at L3 take down a blue bottle fly (the fly is as big as the mantis but bulkier!) and it was amazing to watch. They are also very hardy and easy to keep. They are partially green, have really cool white patterning and colorful wings which you might like : )

Another species you might be interested in, if you don't want a green mantis, might be of the Deroplatys genus (Dead leaf mantis). As their name indicates, they mimic dead leaves and are usually brown/beige and are considered one of the larger species. They do prefer crawling food though.

As far as I know, bark mantises are considered hard to keep. They require very good air flow and high humidity (which are pretty contradictive to replicate in captivity), and are very skittish.

Hi,