completley new to this!!!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

upmybracket

Reaction score
hello all, i am very new to this, although i have kept stick insects in the past i know this is a totally different ball game. my name is matt, i am 20 and live in nottingham, uk. i currently havn't bought a mantis because i am deciding on which to get. i have found a starter kit on the web which comes with either a giant asian or africna mantis and essentials such as tank, heater etc. i have a few queries i would like to put up there so get ready for some dumb questions uv probably all been asked before.

how are they at travelling? i know they are sent in the post but after settin up its habitat am i able to take it with him in it maybe an hour journey to university?

alsdo, i read a post on how none of u handle ur pet, i am going to be handling mine all the time! i read it gets used to you after a while and handling no lionger becomes a problem.

which mantis do u think i shud start with and what are the best places to get fomr?

thanks, any help wud be much appreciated.

matt

Hi Matt,

Welcome to the forum!

Firstly, mantids are great at travelling. I get species in from various places around the world, which can take around 5-6 days to arrive, and they survive that fine. So, a trip to uni would not be a problem at all!

Handling wise, it depends what species you are getting. Like you say, an Asian (Hierodula sp.) or and African (Sphodromantis sp) are pne of the best species to get for a starter, and will tollerate handling.