keeping multiple mantids

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

harryallard

Reaction score
alright

from my other posts i think youve all picked up that im a total noob

so yeah

i just wanted to ask the guys with like 10+ mantids what do you keep them in?

is it a plastic cup for their entire lifecycle or what? :blink:

cos id really like to keep more than one species at a time without spending £20+ each time

cheerss

:D

I keep them together in a somewhat large container and then separate them into smaller individual containers when they are reasonably grown up.

Depends. Newly hatched nymphs live together in net cage or aquarium. Once they are about L3 they are moved into individual deli cups until they outgrow them. Then they move into divided 2.5 gal aquariums. If they're small species they stay in the deli cups their whole life.

I am keeping all my species communally in large terraria most of the time. I am just separating males from females and diminish the groups as they grow up.

I keep my nymphs together till they hit L3 or L4. Then I seperate them into their own deli cups. (32oz) If the species is communal they live in a large cage that can support them their whole life, I usually never seperate them. My large mantises that hit four inches (ex: Chinese mantis) are moved to large netted cages once the deli cup gets too small for them.

I put my small ones in the aquarium. Then when they get L3 to L6 I keep them in 24-32 ounce containers (bought from mantisplace), and when they reach sub to adult, they are kept either in an aquarium or in a netted cage.

so could you keep 2 female wahlbergiis together then?in a 30 x 19.5 x 20.5cm tank? :mellow:

i wish you could

probably cant though :p
after L4/L5 they wil eat each other even with lots of food.its not worth the risk unless u have lots of them,

would be brilliant if all mantis species were communal