Oxyopsis gracilis ooth's

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Psychobunny

Reaction score
I am new to this species so was surprise to see a small ooth in with one of my oxy's because she

is so small!!

The ooth was on a branch and about the size of a chick pea and impossible to remove.

So, having a male on hand, I decided to mate her, which was succesful (I think) and took about 18 hours

they were connected before she finally ate him!!

With the ooth so small, how many nymphs can I expect from it?

I guess the hatchlings will be really tiny too!!??

The female of this species is one of the cutest little mantids I have ever seen.

They are also very active.

The males dont particularly thrill me, but I love the females.

I will try to post a pic of her today (grocery shopping first!! ).

How long does it take a oxy ooth to hatch?

Last edited by a moderator:
Honestly my oxy females laid many ooths....she laid one very small about the same size as yours...only one I left it in the cage...up untill last sunday when i cleaned it out to rebuild it for one of my idolos...when i found 6 tiny nymphs in it from the ooth

that tiny ooth took about 5 weeks...my other bigger ones have still not hatched yet...but some of the ones I sent out to others have hatched about 1-2 weeks ago right about 6 weeks for a typical size ooth for them it seems.

My Oxy female ( now dead) laid about six oothecae before she died. Four of them have hatched and they average about 40 nymphs per ooth and they are 5/16" x 1/2" on average in size. 5-6 weeks seems about right for hathing time. They can always be peeled off carefully from the mesh of my enclosures.