Pairing Siblings?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crucis

Reaction score
Hi everyone, will there be any undesirable side effects if ootheca-siblings mate? Since nature times it such that females mature after the males (and the vast majority of siblings won't live to get their wings anyway), I'm guessing it probably isn't recommended; but what if there aren't any alternatives from other lineages? Has anyone encountered anything clearly detrimental about it?

I'm pretty new to mantids, just want to be sure about this because I might run into this problem.. Thanks for any help!

I think that it is nature's way to see that this does not happen easily. The natural dispersal of the insects from the hatching would almost make it impossible for it to happen that siblings mate. When they do mate in our breeding program, there is going to be a price to pay. The genes that are there with negative traits are going to compound by pairing in such a way as the outcome will not be favoring things like vigor, hatch count, etc. If I am off based, someone correct me, I am also a Mantid Newbie but well versed in genetics and biology and discussing this matter in a way to be understood by the person who is not a Biology nut, is a challenge.

I have heard inbreeding in the insect world is not a big of deal as birds, reptiles or mammals, but don't take my word for it. It's something you might want to look into.

Hi everyone, will there be any undesirable side effects if ootheca-siblings mate? Since nature times it such that females mature after the males (and the vast majority of siblings won't live to get their wings anyway), I'm guessing it probably isn't recommended; but what if there aren't any alternatives from other lineages? Has anyone encountered anything clearly detrimental about it?