Californica mismolt

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AltarMantis

Reaction score
Hi all, I've recently lost a lot of nymphs to molting sections and I'm wandering what I can do to help. All of my mantids seem to have a hard time getting out of their skin. And is there any manipulation that can be done to help fallen mantids? I'm assuming not but would love to know.

Am just a newbie here but from what i have been able to learn, my tenodora sinensis mantises have been having molting difficulties due to low humidity in mesh containers. What kind of mantises do you have and what kind of container are they in? What molting problems do they show and at what nymph stage? Any i have had who fell at a very young age did not do well. 

Last edited by a moderator:
All that have fallen seem stuck half way at the legs and and up bent if escaping their hides. They are stagomatis Californica and I think it's a humidity problem or a lack of strength from my low feed sources. :p

Fruit flies but my culture has crashed and I'm trying to get it going again as buying another one right is an additional expense I don't have much money for. So a single fly a day until I can catch more good :p I'm now trying to mist twice daily but was just doing it once daily.

So a single fly a day until I can catch more good
Humidity in winter is likely a problem; however, with only a single fruit fly per mantis for a feeding that is the main problem.

That itself is more than enough reason for them to fall over dead from hunger (let along successfully molt, they don't have the energy to pull themselves from the exoskeleton).