Chambre d'amour

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Digger

Reaction score
I'm new to breeding T. sigiana.  I've found that both male and female are more skittish than many other sp.  The male, particularly so (afraid of food, his own shadow, the dark, you name it).  I've been warned that the girls are particularly difficult when introducing a male.  So, at the spur of the moment, I decided to try this --- a cattle chute design.  Made from a cut-out toothpaste tube and wrapped with transparent plastic.  Unfortunately, it's too large a diameter and the Missus is able to turn around.  But we shall see.

I call it the  Chambre d'amour

chambre d'amour.JPG

Hopefully it does turn into it's namesake and becomes a house of love. ;) Innovative idea for a tiny species though.

If you do want to try another box she will not be able to turn around in (as easily) try making one out of a cold pill style box (check your bathroom). The box is much more narrow, but has plenty of height.

I was curious of the species and found only one site with details about them. It seems to be a very difficult species to bred with only one real tip is to try breeding at dusk - but of course that is a common ideal.

Mating
When adult, allow your mantids 8 to 14 days after their final moult before pairing with each other.
Best time to attempt pairing is around dusk
Place the female in the males cage, preferably in front of the male so that the male sees the female but the female does not see the male and leave them too it ! The female is aggressive and will likely attack the male before , during or after mating so BEWARE....keep an eye on proceedings.
If you see the mantids mating, remove the male after coitus and keep for other females or to re mate after eggsacs are laid