Communal ghost mantis enclosure

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deanmachine

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to the mantid hobby, first just want to say it's always interesting finding a new weird tiny group of excited folks. I've cared for tarantulas for about 1 1/2 years now, and that community seems massive compared to this one! I just stumbled upon mantids the other day and they seem really interesting, and certain species seem fairly easy to care for (compared to tarantulas which I'm used to.)

I've done some research and it seems I am interested in ghost mantids since they are a good beginner species and can possibly live communally. From what I've gathered on this forum, even though they CAN live communally, a lot of people seem to have stories of cannibalism. Of course I don't want this to happen, but I would still like to try to house two, possibly three together if possible.

I have an arboreal tarantula enclosure that I made a while back, sadly Samsung the avic died 6 months ago. The enclosure is 7" x 7" x 12" tall, I've attached a photo. I like the look of this thing, honestly I'm just not a big fan of deli containers or those hex jars...just not for me.

So a few questions after all that talk:

1. Is this enclosure too big for an L2-L3 ghost mantis? I will probably feed with tongs by hand, not just let prey loose in there and get lost

2. Is this enclosure big enough to house 2 or three ghosts into adulthood without issue? or is this a terrible idea? Would it just be survival of the fittest?

QRdjMc0.jpg

Any and all advice is appreciated! Thanks :scooter:

-Dean

Hello Dean and welcome to both the hobby and forum
welcome7.gif