European ootheca found

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

0TG

Reaction score
Hey guys, newbie here.

Just looking to put my story in writing and give you guys a background so that I can ask any questions that should come up down the road.

Two or three weeks ago I caught a European praying mantis in my yard, it was the first mantis I've seen in many years, so I decided to keep it as a pet.

I bought a 5 gallon tank for it and she wasted no time in accepting gutloaded crickets. I've got a pothos plant in with her, along with many sticks, and paper towels as the substrate which I change weekly. I lightly mist the plant daily.

I noticed that she had been getting really fat, but I just chalked it up to the large meals of crickets I was giving her. A few days ago, I found a greyish green cacoon like 'sac' hardened to one of the sticks, so I did some research and found this site.

I apologize if I'm asking questions that have been asked dozens of times before, I just like to have one on one advice relating to my particular situation.

I broke the stick that the Ootheca was attached to and stuck it in a small gladware container, poked holes in the top, and put it in the fridge.

What kind of container should I get for it? The gladware with holes poked in it is OK for now I'm assuming but I wouldn't want to keep it in there permanently as I'm sure the babies would be able to escape through the air holes.

How long will it take to hatch? Are there any instances in which infertile Ootheca are present? How long should I keep the ootheca in the fridge and what should I feed the babies if and when they hatch? Will they be big enough to eat small crickets or are fruit flies the only way to go?