Feeding flies to your mantids

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dgerndt

Reaction score
I'm still relatively new to feeding flies to my mantids since I've always had species that would eat crickets. But when I got a Gongy a little while ago, I had to start. I did the math, and it's much cheaper and less time-consuming to just feed all my mantids bluebottle flies instead of crickets. $5 in crickets once a week, plus all the time and energy to feed the crickets, etc... It's much easier (and about $15 cheaper each month) to just drop a few pupae in each enclosure once a day.

But once they hatch into flies, the problem begins. I have nine different enclosures to put flies in, and they only stay chilled and non-flying for a short time. I might be able to do it in time if it weren't for every mantis trying to escape as soon as I take the lid off. <_< Plus, all my mantids are on the second floor of the house, and the freezer is on the first floor. So add the time of running through the kitchen and up the stairs, and it's simply impossible for me to get it all done in one trip. It's more like three trips. Sure, running up and down the stairs is good exercise, but it's getting rather annoying. Not to mention the flies that escape!

Bottom line: I need a new system for feeding flies to my mantids before I go nuts. So what's your technique?

If I stuck with a system for more than a week, I'd feel more comfortable telling you what to try. :-(

Many people (probably accurately) say you have to give the flies a day or two of feeding before using THEM as food (there are several threads on this). If you're doing a mass release, you can trust the numbers and let them go in the enclosure with food inside. Day one won't be so great, but after that, should be fine. Down-side: Your enclosure will be covered in fly spit.