Giant Asian Mantis setup help please!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Samzo

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to mantids but have had experience with other creatures. Anyway, I'm looking to buy and asian mantis and keeping it in an aquarium. What I need to know is, do I need a heat mat, thermometre etc and lighting? Anything you can say about making my set up will be greatly apreciated!

Looking at other pictures of mantids setups, i'm amazed at how good they are... :)

hi,

I don't know if what I had was the same, it was known as a giant asian mantis (hierodula) but I find they need a bit of room since they get pretty big. But a small plastic tank is all that is needed. I kept one a while back in a large fishtank but had troubles keeping humidity up since all the humidity escaped but I might have just been unlucky.

No heat mat is needed. only for fairly exotic species I use a heat mat (flower mantis etc). Unless your room is particularily cold. And I wouldn't use lighting since my my brothers one was near a light and almost died! Thermometers are handy but arent really needed since they're normally kept at room temperature.

Cheers, I.F.

p.s. sorry for giving my life story. :lol:

Hiya,

I don't have any experience with this mantid, but generally this mantid does well at room temperature (73-86 degrees). You can use an under the tank heater or a simple lamp for heat. If you use a lamp, remember to focus it on one end of the enclosure, so that a heat gradient is established and the mantid can chose how warm it wants to be.