Greetings from a new mantid parent

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BobbyClouser

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm brand new to keeping mantids. I "adopted" my first pair about 3 weeks ago. A friend from work, well, his wife came across a female Chinese mantis in her yard late last fall. She brought it inside and it promptly created an ootheca. I thought they were going to let it over-winter, but instead they kept it warm. It hatched about Jan 20. Only 2 survived. They weren't really into raising them, so I adopted them. I got them when they were L2s. I think one's a female (larger) and the other is a male. So far, they're doing just fine. The female molted a few days ago, so she's L3, and the male is molting now. I never thought I would get into keeping mantids as pets. In my whole life, I've only seen a wild mantis once or twice! Now I'm learning there are all kinds of beautiful mantids to have as pets.

I'm 55, work in software development and QA. Living in Massachusetts, in winter, I'm still learning how to keep them warm and not too dry. I love all animals -- we have 3 dogs and 2 cats now, and we had more in the past. I'm also into astronomy, model railroading, metal detecting, fossil hunting, and lots of other stuff. Not enough time in the day.

I look forward to learning more from this forum. 

Bob

IMG_4130.JPG

Welcome to the forum! You have a beautiful mantis, I hope they both make it to adulthood! Btw, L2/L3 is too early to tell sex. What are you feeding them? What do their containers look like? Just trying to make sure that your mantids have a good setup!

- MantisGirl13

I'll post some pictures soon. Right now I'm feeding them fruit flies (D. melanogaster). I ordered some of the bigger ones too (D. hydei).

bob

Uh oh, someone's got Mantis fever! 😂 Don't worry, while there is no cure you are always welcome to stay quarantined here with us!