Help me decide what species i should keep next ! :D

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

13ollox

Reaction score
hey guys , i got 2 faunariums empty so i was thinking what should i fill em with but theres soo many species its hard to decide so i thought id give you a chance to persuade me to keep a species you enjoy ! im a novice keeper and like active species like polyspilota's, ! so cummon .. persuade me !!!

Neil

Hmmm......

Get some mantids that are available in your area (in the UK which is a lot of species available)

Try

-Phyllocrania Paradoxa <---Highly recommended (My 1st exotic mantis :D )

-Gongylus Gongylodes

-Sphodromantis (Nice stalking down of prey, in other words, entertaining)

-Pseudocrobotra Wahlebergi <---I think i spelled it wrong

And when you really feel ready, some Orchids, then Idolos. (Dunno about difficulty, sometimes things are easier to keep than you think!)

I'm sure other people can post their suggestions, the ones I said try are the ones I kept :) .

paradoxa, gongloides coronatus, Ceratomantis sp, basalis. I would say Sybilla sp. but Personnally, im not really "feeling it" with these guys yet.

first check availability, no point in deciding on a species you can't get. there are those who want big, others want color, others want speed. you have to consider ease of care also. some require flying prey, high humidity, or high temp. all present different challenges. i have raised about 7 or 8 different kinds. the C. Elongata are very cool to look at, and are fun to watch get prey, the H. Grandis is huge and seems very smart. marbled are very colorful. i would like to try violin as they can be housed communally. i have had chinese, and they are easy to raise and cheap. good luck

I found orchids especially when young to be plenty of fun