Help this newbie ID these storebought ootheca

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zemata

Reaction score
Hey guys. Decided to buy a mantid ooth from my local flower shop for my first go at this. Want to hatch them and release all but 2 or 3 after a few molts. I was wondering if you guys could ID these for me. They look like

Tenodera Aridifolia Sinensis to me but I may be wrong because I've never done this!(Don't mind the clutter and Lego

:eek:nline2long: )

IMG_1556.jpg

IMG_1557.jpg

Also because I'm new at this, are these containers a suitable size for each ooth?

IMG_1558.jpg

and just a few more questions. Should I line the tops and bottoms of the containers with paper towels? Do I have to suspend the ooth from the top or can I prop it against the side? Is this going to be enough mantids to justify the purchase of a FF culture? How to I feed the little beasts without them escaping????

Thanks a lot!

You are correct. Chinese mantis ooth

Those are too small of cages. They need to be taller. You should hang it but it will still hatch if proped against the side