Hi from Florida

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grob

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

My name is Rob and I'm from South Florida. I have two teenage daughters and I'm trying to get us all into raising mantids. I've ordered a few "starter kits" from the internet and the "keeping aliens" book. I want to be sure to have good info so we get off to a good start.

I've read a thread here on Gonatista grisea and I'm really excited to try and find and culture this species. Really good info in the thread, thanks already!

I was once a budding biologist and physicist but bailed out. Now I work as a computer guy for a university biology department. But I did spend many ours sweep netting through weedy roadsides, and I wish I wasn't such a beetle snob at the time as I know I came across lots of mantids. Collecting beetles you just learn how to kill things, although later I got into ants and beetles that live with them and I did keep some ant and beetle colonies for a bit.

Whenever I get into something I see it becoming a life long obsession. I will be the expert on (fill in the blank). Nothing has panned out yet, but this time might be it! Well, my fleeting obsessions are sort of a joke to those who know me. I hope mantids will be different!

And just to be clear, I'm big on captive bred everything. I am not opposed to catching some initial breeding stock, but I only collect from roadsides and vacant lots. Seriously, that's where the good stuff is, I found a new-to-this-hemisphere beetle at a light trap by a backroad and a newly introduced ant in a lot 100 yards from my house. That and I hate dealing with any kind of park ranger person. I've had permits and done it in the past, never again. And I doubt I'll run into any Idolomantis in the weeds here. Captive breeding is where it's at!