Hi! Newbie here. Love my mantis and now she may be doomed.,,

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geishagirrrl

Reaction score
I so wish I would have thought to look for you all sooner.

My name is Julie. We live in FL. In April, towards the end, my 1st grade daughter got a teeny tiny mantis as a gift from her teacher, the whole class did too. At first it was a novelty, just feeding it fruit flies and watching it grow. She became my responsibility to feed and change her jar and I am sooo attached.

We had no clue what we were doing, just feeding and keeping her in a jars with holes. Then she got too big and we bought a small habitat, similar to what you'd put a hermit crab in. I also bought crickets at the store for her which proved to be really gross little buggers.

I have NO clue about humidity, we keep it pretty cool inside, and now she's had a bad molt and has really crumpled legs. She is a Chinese Mantis I believe, T. sinensis. This molt is the one that her large wings emerged. Only on one side her wings are really messed up.

I don't know what to do or if I can save her. I really am so intrigued by her and everyone who visits loves her. We sit and watch her all the time.

If she doesn't make it then we'll definitely be getting more mantids. I love them and we would love to have more. Next time will be more prepared and hopefully do it the right way.