High humidity and not eating

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattscott

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to the Mantis scene and a week ago we purchased a Asian. He settled really well and was eating fine. The last few days he's just hung off the roof of the tank. He has no interest in food and just watches it scuttle by. I did try to feed him with a cricket in some tweezers but he just freaked and ran down into the enclosure. Also my humidity is averaging 75. The weather is very humid here so i only spray a little bit near him so he can have a drink. Is the humidity being that high going to affect him/her. Ive got plenty of ventilation at the top of the enclosure and drilled a number of holes at the bottom to help with circulation. The holes at the bottom are quite small. This is so the small crickets i put in dont escape....any advice would be appreciated...thanks. Matt

This species can have health issues if the enclosure isn't well ventilated. General recommended humidity range is around 40-60, but 70 would be fine if well ventilated. How large is the enclosure and the opening ventilation hole at the top? You may want to consider adding an additional vent like the one shown. They're dirt cheap on eBay and easy to install... unless the enclosure is glass.

The skittish behavior and refusal to eat could be a sign that it is about to molt. If that's the case you should remove the feeders because they can interrupt the molting process.

Attachments

• mill_open_screen_tab_b8780ef8-e0e8-4816-b5de-4526ebd4f3f8_1024x1024.jpg
    mill_open_screen_tab_b8780ef8-e0e8-4816-b5de-4526ebd4f3f8_1024x1024.jpg
    286 KB · Views: 0