Hiya everyone!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZenViouS

Reaction score
Hey guys and gals, my name's Zach and I love everything science. I'm 17 and I'm also a self proclaimed scientist. I live in Florida (around St. Petersburg). I also love praying mantids, as they are my favorite insect, though I cannot remember how I came to first learn about them. It all started when I was 11 and got my first couple mantids (at that time I didn't quite realize that there were nearly 2 thousand species and just thought that the ones my family got me off ebay were THE praying mantises, the only type) which were 2 females and a male as I remember it. The male was the first to go as when I bred them, one of the girlies ate him (though he was still able to mate with her!) then one female died because I was young and didn't realize that the direct sunlight from leaving them on my windowsill all day was lethal, then the other one died from old age as I remember it. The mated female gave me a few ooths and 2 of them hatched. Well, I didn't realize that you couldn't really anticipate when the nymphs would be arriving and thus all the fruit flies I bought died before the nymphs hatched... I didn't have anything to feed them :( . Then, 2-3 years ago I got a pre-mated female off of Ebay again and I had the bring idea to put her in a "feeding" container with 20-30 crickets running around because I didn't think she was eating the few I was putting in her cage. In there, as well, I placed a small logs which she rolled over on top of herself right when I walked away. I know now that she was probably sick and I should have tried feeding her cricket guts on a toothpick or small crickets by hand... Then we get to today. I currently have 6 Chinese ooths (4 of which have hatched) 1 european ooth, and 1 unknown (probably another one of the other 2). I've been cultivating my own D. Melanogaster