horsehair worms

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Codexe

Reaction score
Hey I'm new to this 
I found a praying mantis on a window and took it in. It looked pretty weak 
since then I bought a net cage  and care for it as best I can 
For food I caught wild crickets and grasshoppers in a field close by, and moths 
This morning a cricket was dead and we sprayed the inside of the cricket cage and a couple horsehair worms came out 😩
hopefully my mantis didnt eat one from another cricket
looks like I'm gonna need to buy feeder insects online 
is there a way to make sure my mantis is healthy and doesn't have a worm? 

I don't know if they affect mantids but I'm also not sure if you can be 100% sure either. Horse hair worms are creepy.

Horse hair worms do affect mantids. Just keep an eye on her, but if she has one, you can't do much to help her!

- MantisGirl13 

If the mantis is wild caught they could already be a carrier from being outside.

Even with an infected cricket, I imagine transfer to a mantis would depend partially on the stage the worm is in when consumed.

Ill check and try to notice if she does anything weird 
last night I thought she was acting a bit funny but then she pooped loll 
hopefully she's fine and I can find enough moths until I can buy some better feeders 
still have to convince my wife that buying 100 crickets is a good thing loll

I would but no matter how much I search I can't find anyplace online that sells to Canada with a reasonable price 
I think I found one that was 1000 spikes for 40$ with shipping and thats about 60$ here. cant spend that much on feeders that are gonna die within a month. maybe up to 15-20$ would be acceptable