Howdy from Texas

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

proserpina

Reaction score
Hello! My name is Cleo and I'm (as the title mentions) from El Paso, Texas.

I haven't had a lot of hands-on experiences with mantises, seeing as how I don't see very many at all. I have a cat colony who I feed and they probably have eaten the mantises around my house :/ But when I was in elementary school, in what I think was 6th grade, I found a little mantis nymph and was so excited! Unfortunately it hopped off my finger but I've been fascinated by mantises ever since, I think they're utterly adorable and very charming creatures.

I'm a full-time undergraduate student who suffers from an anxiety disorder and needs something to funnel my attention to and mantises seem like the perfect outlet for me. I'm planning to buy a few species once I can get some fruit fly cultures and little enclosures for the nymphs. I registered here because I've never owned a mantis and wanted to be in a community that would be able to answer questions I might have.

I'm super excited to get into this hobby and very glad to have found this place! I look forward to becoming a member of this community!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello Cleo and welcome to the forum
welcome.gif

The fruit flies are not needed unless you get some really young instars L1 to L3 (depending on the species). Your best bet is to ask the seller what prey the nymphs are eating so you know what is the appropriate sized prey to get for them, and find out their instar (and keep track as it molts).

A rough prey outline for instars of the more common larger mantid species...

• L1 - The smaller Melanogaster fruit flies
  • L2 - L3 - The larger Hydei fruit flies and pinhead crickets
  • L4 - L5 - Houseflies and small crickets
  • L6 - L7 - Bottle flies and medium crickets