I finally found myself a "lady bug"

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ABbuggin

Reaction score
Well, as it turns out, being really involved in insects (I've been loving/keeping them all my life, I work/volunteer at a museum in the insectarium/butterfly house, I've been breeding mantids for 3-4 years, etc.), turns out to be a pretty good way to deter girls my age. :rolleyes: Especially when most of the time I'm outside I'm running chasing insects with my butterfly net, while carrying a cage in the other hand, looking like a weirdo. :lol: Also, I always get uncomfortable being around kids my age (especially girls). I can be totally comfortable talking to a stranger if its a younger kid, or an adult. All my friends are either kids or adults (weird, I know). :rolleyes: My closest friend is actually the entomologist at the museum I work/volunteer at! (even weirder I know :lol: ) Being like this has made it very difficult to even have the courage to talk to girls my age, let alone actually having one that likes me. But all of that changed a few weeks ago. I finally found my "lady bug" :D She is actually the FIRST girl I feel comfortable being around with and talking too. She also doesn't "freak out" nearly as much as other girls do when I have one of my many insects with me. Just last week she wanted to hold some dragonflies that I had caught! She is a little squeamish (name one 17 year old girl who isn't lol) around insects, but I'll make sure to take care of that. I'm sure she would love to see where I work at the museum. B)

Last edited by a moderator:
Way to go!

I usually tell ladies when they visit that the mantids are bred for pheromones, and they have seconds before they take their clothes off and throw themselves on me.

Awesome ABbuggin! I know exactly what you mean, collecting insects doesn't come across to hot to the female crowd :D