Idolo's carnivorous plants gallery

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

idolomantis

Reaction score
There you go, Rebecca! :D

I've got only a fe pictures of my sarracenia right now.. i need to find batteries for my camera <_<

Oh well, enjow the show! B)

Sarracenia hybride

2869923587_20b8a1cc31_b.jpg

2869923953_f3fec971cd_b.jpg

2869924393_8195c98103_b.jpg

2870754518_03dbe8cacc_b.jpg

More to come today :)

Very nice... What is the level of difficulty of the maintenance and care for these?

Oh those are so beautiful, I have tried them and nothing worked, I really would like to try again, do u sell any?
I believe obregon has a plant shop, coastal carnivours or something.

Oh, i believe garden centers sell them too!

I'm no plant expert ye :lol:i just began a month ago :p

Sarracenia's are easy, but do much better as garden plants then house plants. Just google around and you'll get lots of info, like this site

Pitcher plants

three key things to remember, demineralized water (rain water), poor soil and lots of sun.

I've had two species in my garden for the last 3 years and they have no problems in our mild winters (Netherlands). In fact some of the Sarracenia species have MUCH colder winters than we do. So, for you Americans, like hibiscussmile, just look for some native species and grow them in an artificial bog in your garden. :D

sarra2.jpg

sarra1.jpg

Most people buy distilled water during the hotter months when there's not much rain. Also, remember not to use soil with fertilizer in it.

Most people buy distilled water during the hotter months when there's not much rain. Also, remember not to use soil with fertilizer in it.
Hi,

Don't use soil!! of any kind for carnivorous plants. Use, depending on the plant use various mixtures of sphagnum living or dried, peat moss, sand, perlite/pumice etc. I am sure that is what you meant.

Regards ;)