Inert bones as decoration?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FraidyCat

Reaction score
hi! im new to mantid keeping and ive been gobbling up the plenty of information on this forum (especially on nymphs and feeding, so if you have any fav threads, feel free to share!) but i figured i should actually ask some good questions and stop lurking so much. :p

i have a small exo terra on a lovely stand set up in my bedroom, near the door so the airflow is at its best. I simply LOVE decorating tanks so of course ive been mulling over the decoration a lot, and i landed on an excellent aesthetic that would sate my love of animals as well as taxidermy! Bones! Deer bones to be precise, as they are beyond plentiful here and sold for cheap at the market. 

... however, im unsure if this idea would sate my desire to have a safe, mantis friendly enclosure. Everything relies on safety, so i would love your input before i go out and do anything.

the substrate will be coconut husk since its what we have on hand, im unsure on the thickness but it'll be sloped to the front so any ground-crawling buggies can be easily seen, this way any dropped food can be spotted easily and removed.

Smack dab in the middle of the tank i want to put a properly processed deer skull (boiled, stripped, inert!) or simply some shed antlers, if the skull proves too big. On them some I'll wind and hotglue faux flowers to create additional perches and give a more natural look. The eye sockets, i think, would be useful for retaining drinking water and humidity. If it gathers too much of a puddle, i could adjust the skull's angle so it doesn't collect as much or stuff them with flowers, or substrate.