Insect Traps

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorty

Reaction score
Today I made a simple fly trap using a plastic bottle and a funnel with meat or some other attractant in the bottom. I've used these before and they work fairly well. I'm just wondering what those of you who catch your own feeders use to trap the insects with. I'd like to find a good design for a light trap so I can just put one out and let it do the work for me overnight.

Any ideas?

I like your bottle and funnel technique. I'll try that. I don't really have any trap ideas because I am a newbie. I usually capture flies inside the house and moths outside by the lights. I would also like to know other peoples ideas on how to trap flies/insects. Great topic.

-Kevin

I'm really not creative enough to make my own bug trap. I did purchase a light trap from zoo-med that works quite well. It's called the bugnapper. I have manged to capture all sorts of goodies for my mantids with this trap. I think it was around $40.00 or so.

i got a cheaper way I use like a pill bottle or a 32 oz tub and when I find flies outside in view I put the cup or bottle above the fly and lower the container on the flies and works extremely well and have some escape but as long as I got the lid over the top to prevent the fly from escaping then its cake for me and this time of year the flies are easier to catch as they cling to the bark of trees!

I'm really not creative enough to make my own bug trap. I did purchase a light trap from zoo-med that works quite well. It's called the bugnapper. I have manged to capture all sorts of goodies for my mantids with this trap. I think it was around $40.00 or so.
I search the bugnapper on the net, seems so good, I think I´ll buy one!!!