Is this a suitable enclosure?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UKMantid

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm hoping you can give me some advice on this enclosure I've found. It looks ideal to me, but I'm a complete novice so I wouldn't really know :D  The top mesh IS rather large. Would this give me problems maintaining humidity? I plan on keeping a couple of Ghost Mantis in here, with some coconut fibre covered with some bunched of sphagnum moss as the substrate so this should allow me to maintain adequate humidity I would think? (The video at the bottom gives a nice overview of it, and a better view of the vented areas to get an idea of how big the holes are).

http://www.petsathome.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/pets/exo-terra-glass-terrarium-(online-only)?CAWELAID=120267720000003011&cm_mmc=&ito=GAG46973022911&itc=GAC206868620778&itkw=nil&itaexid=&itawnw=search&itawmt=&itadvc=c&gclid=Cj0KCQjw24nNBRChARIsALldLD3ZdQI4zqc2oqRXsAra55StItkdn88DvBTkHiUVw9nlsBlSLTC7coEaAmz3EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Many thanks,

Chris

Ghosts do perfectly fine under low humidity. My groups are always at 40-45%, with only one misting per week.

Thanks Velve,

I'll have to check what the humidity is like in my home. It's around 60% outside at the moment but probably a bit dryer in here. Does anyone have experience with these enclosures? I've read one or two posts elsewhere that say smaller feeder insects can escape through the front vent. This may not be a problem with adult Ghosts with larger food but it would be good to know.