larvae out of grasshoppers head?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

calmspeak

Reaction score
Hi all, Yesterday I fed my chinese L4 or L5 ( not sure I'm new at this) a grasshopper that I caught out side. As she was munching away a larvae of some kind jumped out of the hopper and burrowed into the substrate. I wasn't sure if I should have taken the food away ( I probably wouldn't have been able to) so she ate it all. I moved her to a different cage. I did a bit of grasshopper research and couldn't find any thing specific on parasites in grasshoppers. The larvae or what ever it was was really fast at hiding and you can see him move under the vermiculite substrate. Pretty creepy, hope my mantid is all right. Any idea of what this might have been? :?

It will have been a nematode. The eggs of the parasite are found on grass blades and so are ingested by the grasshopper. They can infect locusts too; when the worms are ready to emerge, they erupt between the segments of the host, often just behind the head !

:shock: :x :cry: OH Dear Lord! Why do I read these things, Creepy! Comes out behind the head, my neck is itching , itching, itching now. I had almost the same experience the other day, Big grasshopper with wings laying in the bottom of a cage, I dumped it out and figured since it was newly dead, I would feed it to Baby, (U remember Baby, the dead leaf w/bad arm) I would feed it to her. I cut the belly piece from the head and 3 worms came out. Still makes me shutter and that was Sat. :twisted: Oh Yea Baby must of seen it she ain't ate since :cry:

that is fuggin disgusting

i hate parasites

damn body snatchers