Leaves and Twigs from the yard - Question

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Granny's Mantis Mayhem

Reaction score
Is it safe to use leaves and twigs from the yard Is it safe to use leaves and twigs from the yard in the mantis enclosures? Do any of you do that? Pics would be awesome and how do you get them ready? Just toss in, heat first?in the mantis enclosures? Do any of you do that? Pics would be awesome and how do you get them ready? Just toss in, heat first?

I avoid it now. If for any reason, it's to completely control the environment the mantises live in. My birds (I love to call them birds 😁) do fine with plastic foliage. 

Some bake their sticks. I tried that once. They produce oil and fumes when you do that. 

You can buy nice wood at reptile stores. 

When I was a beginner this was one of my very first questions. I asked about heat treating branches because I had read about it on the dendroboards regarding frog enclosures so I tried baking the sticks in a 200° oven for an hour...and ended up turning the ends of the sticks into charcoal. I found this mantis board shortly after my misadventure with the oven and was told heat treating sticks is unecessary for mantids, they are not sensitive to foreign bacteria like dart frogs are. It's perfectly fine to use sticks from your yard provided you are ABSOLUTELY SURE no pesticides or fertilizers have been used anywhere near your foraging spot for at least 2 years and you give them a quick visual inspection to make sure there are no tiny hitchhikers like aphids or ants. If you are worried about tiny bugs and don't have the best eyesight you can give the sticks a rinse with hot water and a scrub brush then let dry out before using. If you clip twigs and leaves directly off the tree this also reduces the possibility of hitchhiker insects. (If you have a bioactive substrate in the enclosure be sure to include lea