looking for new species can you help??

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baskmantids

Reaction score
I had a group of spiny flower mantis i got from a dave im sure hes on this forum as well. Great shipping btw. I was hoping to raise into adulthood and then breed them. but once my girlfriend saw them and expressed to me that she would like to take over, and me having a soft spot for her. I let her keep them as i couldnt turn down the chance of sharing my new found hobby with the girl i love. Haha i know to much info but the point is now i have no mantis to enjoy and care for and would like to get a new species to work with and wanted to know what your favorites are and what you would recommend I am new to the species but not new to caring for Pets whether they be a mammal, reptile, or insects so I'm sure replicating the temps and humidity of a species natural habitat won't be a difficult task for me so please don't hesitate to recommend a species that may be a little bit difficult to Care for

im in california.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have had nine different mantid species now and it depends on what you are looking for (large, small, exotic, companion, native species, easy to breed, etc) So here are some notes of a couple of the species I've had, I left several off the list as I haven't had much time with those species yet.

• Deadleaf mantis (Deroplatys lobata) - 2.75" (7cm) in max size. They are easy to hand tame and once out of their cups like to explore and don't want to be put back. No problems with molting. They like to do the swaying/wind dance whenever they are happy(?) especially when they are out of their habitats. Easy to feed fruit flies, houseflies, and crickets through various instars. Mine will track down and tackle crickets during feeding. One of my favorites.