Mystery

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agent A

the autistic flower mantis
Supporting Member
Reaction score
okay well I've been wanting to ask this for a while now. My egyptian mantis male ate a cricket almost his size a few days after becoming an adult (he's long gone now, but the observation I made is still clear in my head), and his abdomen didn't swell up at all. I was astonished, how could that whole thing (he ate the whole thing) go in that tiny abdomen without stretching it (if he was still a nymph, the abdomen would be really fat)? I noticed this with all adult males, abdomen stays same size always. How does it do that? Does some stay in the esophagus? Is it an illusion?

The males abdomen is very long and thin allowing the food to sit along the length of him. At least that is my thoughts but i'm no expert. I'm sure someone will come along with a good scientific explanation.

okay well I've been wanting to ask this for a while now. My egyptian mantis male ate a cricket almost his size a few days after becoming an adult (he's long gone now, but the observation I made is still clear in my head), and his abdomen didn't swell up at all. I was astonished, how could that whole thing (he ate the whole thing) go in that tiny abdomen without stretching it (if he was still a nymph, the abdomen would be really fat)? I noticed this with all adult males, abdomen stays same size always. How does it do that? Does some stay in the esophagus? Is it an illusion?