newbie with problem

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sevenoaks

Reaction score
i took a adult female mantis inside on a cold november morning while she clung to my patio chair. she has been inside ever since in a plastic tub 8"X12" with coco noir as substrate. i am new to this so i didnt know how else to set her up.i put some sticks from outside and a twig of a bush she lived in. she is in room temp and i have a paper cup cut down with some water in it for humidity and for her to drink(?) i used to spray the substrate but it got mold on it. i give her one cricket every couple of days and i am feeding the crickets potatoes. the other day i noticed my mantis slowing down. she was on the ground and her wing tip was a bit bent. she had some substrate on her .next thing i know i hear her falling from the top of the cage(she never could get a footing on the plastic top) well she feel once and i looked and she was on the ground sideways hardly moving. i thought she was dying. well i had a cricket in there with her and i immediatley took it out so she could die in peace without the cricket knawing at her. well the next morning i was afraid to look to see if she was dead on the ground but she was on one stick with white foam coming out of her butt. i think she layed eggs! she was there for a while and i let her be. well by afternoon she moved away and i put a cricket in there. i dont know if the cricket will eat the egg sac but i thought shed be hungrey since she hasnt eatten in days. i sprayed her face with spring water and let her be. she ate the cricket and i think wanted another. i left her alone until tomorrow. but my question is , is she going to die now? is the egg sac safe if i put crickets in there. she doesnt seem to like meal worms and they get lost in her tub. can i put the egg sac outside now or wait till spring. will it hatch inside her tub? i am not fami