P. affinis Eating Ladybug

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mantibama

Reaction score
Saying I don't have a great camera is an understatement, but I'm a poor college student and the parents don't appreciate photography so here's the picture.

Picture003.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Very cute. I always thought lady bugs were bitter in taste?

By the way, what instar is that beauty?

Very cute. I always thought lady bugs were bitter in taste?By the way, what instar is that beauty?
Yeah I actually searched the forums and saw that seemed to be the opinion. It even kind of smelled in the container after she attacked it, but she went right for it and finished it off. P. affinis is supposed to be pretty voracious though right? As far as the instar, I was thinking she might be a sub-adult or an adult. Do wing buds appear on the sub-adults? I haven't seen her lay any ooths yet though. She was an extra in my order from mantisplace with some P. paradoxa so I haven't considered it much. Anyway, thanks for the comments! I'm waiting for my buddy with a 30mm and macro lens to come down to visit this winter and hopefully I can post some better pics.

Yeah I actually searched the forums and saw that seemed to be the opinion. It even kind of smelled in the container after she attacked it, but she went right for it and finished it off. P. affinis is supposed to be pretty voracious though right? As far as the instar, I was thinking she might be a sub-adult or an adult. Do wing buds appear on the sub-adults? I haven't seen her lay any ooths yet though. She was an extra in my order from mantisplace with some P. paradoxa so I haven't considered it much. Anyway, thanks for the comments! I'm waiting for my buddy with a 30mm and macro lens to come down to visit this winter and hopefully I can post some better pics.