Payson tarantula

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nasty bugger

Reaction score
Right here, in front of this computer screen
I have no experience with tarantulas, but bought a small 'baby payson tarantula' as the container said on it, from a local pet store. He was only 3 bucks so I figure it'd make a good starter tarantula, since I live in Arizona.

I was wondering if these require any special care from any of your experiences?

Since I am new, what would I need to watch out for?

What mistakes would I want to avoid making?

Is this guy a burrower, or what, I doubt he's arboreal being an Arizona native species.

I really don't know what to ask, since this is a new venture for me, and him :)

Despite it being a desert species, it does need humidity. They spend most of their time in burrows or under cover of some kind, venturing out to hunt at night. I just today set up a new habitat cage for an adult female I collected in Arizona this past summer. Because of her size I have her in a ten gallon. The substrate is a mixture of coconut fiber and sand, sloping up from the bottom at one side of the cage to about 2/3 the way to the top at the other end. I placed a variety of pieces of corkbark in there for her to use as part of a shelter she might build (strategically arranged to allow her to sort of figure it out). I also dug a suggestive burrow for her hoping she might take the hint and build her home right up against the glass where I can see her. She'll wander around for a few days or weeks, but she'll settle in soon. A piece of dead cactus wood completes the decor.