pinhead crickets

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whamslam3

Reaction score
should i start feeding my L4 African Mantis pinhead crickets now? or should i just keep feeding it fruit flies until L5? or does it not rly matter as long as it is eating? :lol:

should i start feeding my L4 African Mantis pinhead crickets now? or should i just keep feeding it fruit flies until L5? or does it not rly matter as long as it is eating? :lol:
Try one and see what happens, if it doesn't want it you'll know but keep an eye on it. If it hasn't eaten it in reasonably short order, given the opportunity then take it out so it doesn't cause your nymph harm.

I have no experience with African mantids but the Aussie sp. are pretty voracious. They will tackle anything up to 3/4 its size.

So, if you feel African mantids are up for the challenge, go for it!

Be wary though. Too big a cricket with an appetite may see them switch roles.

Keep us posted

L4 african should be able to eat almost adult crickets. I cannot imagine an L4 african still eating fruit flies. There is no set stage or time where you have to move up. If it will fit in its front legs it should be able to eat it.

ok thnx for all your help guys :D . ill see if i can get some pinheads this week and ill see what happens :)

ok thnx for all your help guys :D . ill see if i can get some pinheads this week and ill see what happens :)
Are you sure it is L4? Pinheads seem way too small for that size african mantis. Pinheads are called that for a reason, they are not much larger than large fruit flies.

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you sure it is L4? Pinheads seem way too small for that size african mantis. Pinheads are called that for a reason, they are not much larger than large fruit flies.
im prity sure its L4. could be L3 tho. i can take a pic of it and have it posted soon so u can c how big it is.

MymantisScyther.jpg