Plunged into the world of centipede keeping!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reptiliatus

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I'm not sure what inspired this interest because honestly, although I love animals passionately, I have always had some sort of a fear of centipedes. The speed, the legs, the venom, they gave me the heebie-jeebies! I always like to research the husbandry of various animals, regardless if I own any or not and so basically I started learning more about them, their care, etc, watched some youtube videos and.....

Well here I am since last week/this week's purchases xD! Yes, I know how venomous and large Scolopendra are, I have been keeping inverts for years and I would never buy such an animal without knowing this information.

What have I gotten myself into... ;)

Enjoy!

Giant Vietnamese centipede (Scolopendra subspinipes)

1D5D45B6-C1A0-4D35-BC9F-3A0D3FEBA8C5-231-0000006466F7616F_zpsc757216d.jpg

Tanzanian blue leg (Scolopendra sp.) don't worry, she's in a new enclosure now :) .

B1A74252-78EA-4D8C-AF34-698168DEEA3A-231-000000646B5E6A9D_zpsbc667299.jpg

Beautiful and fascinating creatures! <3

I would love to keep some, but the venom... and I have a curious kid. I just go and look at the centipedes in the local exotics store for now...

I really would want to have some mothers with their eggs and young. I love how they wrap around their babies.

Last edited by a moderator:
Beautiful and fascinating creatures! <3

I would love to keep some, but the venom... and I have a curious kid. I just go and look at the centipedes in the local exotics store for now...

I really would want to have some mothers with their eggs and young. I love how they wrap around their babies.
Agreed! I have no idea how to sexe these guys as of yet. I don't think it's the same as millipedes either.