Question about Egg Case

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobbyd

Reaction score
I'm curious about the ootheca being produced more than once. I have a mantis that I saved a week ago and she just gave birth to an ootheca this morning. Does that mean they will hatch?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm new to this forum. I have a 5 inch green female that I saved last week from the cold weather here in michigan. She gave birth to the ootheca today. Will she soon die now that she gave birth? What do I do with the foamy white ootheca that is hanging on the side of my tank??

I'm new to this forum. I have a 5 inch green female that I saved last week from the cold weather here in michigan. She gave birth to the ootheca today. Will she soon die now that she gave birth? What do I do with the foamy white ootheca that is hanging on the side of my tank??
Bobbyd:

Like you, I am new to mantis care and have not been on this board much longer than you. I have some experience with insects and getting around forums and the internet, though, so here are a few ideas that might help until someone more experienced posts a reply if only to correct some mistake of mine!

It seems likely that your mantis is a Chinese mantis, Tenodera sinensis, though they are not usually reported as being longer than 4". Perhaps yours is a giant, or too frisky to make measurement easy. The 4" value is obtained by measuring from the front of the head to the tip of the tail, by the way; don't include the forlegs that are sticking out in front.

In the "Important Information ("stickies") at the top of this topic list, is an article on ooth (short for ootheca, of course) care by Peter that is very well written and should answer most if not all of your questions on that subject.