Roaches

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

The_Asa

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to start my roach colony. This is my first time trying to breed or use roaches so any advice would be appreciated, especially suggestions in regards to the species I should use. I'd like ones that would climb and that can't breed in the home. Thanks in advance.

lobster, dubia are good. turkish roaches are wuite big.

even with minimum care those thing breeds like heck.

What size do these roaches grow to? how big are they when they should be fed to the mantids? i have mostly chinese mantids. Thanks.

also where can i pick some of these roaches up in ohio?

Last edited by a moderator:
Dubia are the biggest, females are about 4cm.

Lobsters next at about 3 cm.

Turkistans are about the 2.5 to 3 cm but a lot lighter built.

Feed them as you would a cricket, a sensible size for your mantis to dispatch and eat safely.

An adult female T sinensis could manage an adult dubia roach if v hungry but safer to give more smaller ones :)

Birdfly,

If an adult female Tenodera sinensis can't easily handle an adult Blaptica dubia, there is something wrong with the adult female T. sinensis.

S-

I breed dubia's and deathshead for my lizards. I think dubia's would be best for mantids. My adult D.desiccata can eat adult male dubia's.

I didn't get lobster roaches because I heard they can infest houses and they do climb glass (so more likely to escape). Not sure what people mean by turkish roaches? Blatta lateralis? I haven't had those. I'd first like to be sure they cannot infest the house. There is another roach, Shelfordella tartara, that has become very popular, but has by now been shown to be able to infest houses and could become a serious pest species.