Warning to all dog owners!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MandellaMandy123

Reaction score
I just got my dog back from the vet hospital after she ate an entire box of holiday Belgium chocolates last night while no one was looking. Luckily she's okay now, but it was close (not to mention the huge vet bill and the fact that I'm now sick from staying up until 4 AM at the vet...) It's getting to be around Christmastime again, so if you have a dog, make sure to watch the chocolates! The little pooches can be really sneaky.

~Wolfie

Chocolate is toxic to many living things. I was a veterinary tech, I saw quite a few dogs with chocolate toxicity this time of year. Glad to hear your dog is going to be ok, sorry about your cold. Emergency vet bill. Ouch. Dog owners please be careful.

I'm glad your dog is okay. Those vet bills are killer. I found the best way to avoid that issue with my dogs is to eat all of the chocolate as soon as it gets in the house. Yum!

My sweet sister, when having to put her old baby down, took some hersheys kisses in her pocket and gave to her right before her shot. She said she always felt bad eating candy around her and thought it could not hurt her now as she only had minutes to live. So she got to give her a sweet treat. Breaks me old heart!

Well, my dog and I are both doing better as of today. Lesson learned - no more chocolate in the house!

Chocolate is toxic to many living things. I was a veterinary tech, I saw quite a few dogs with chocolate toxicity this time of year. Glad to hear your dog is going to be ok, sorry about your cold. Emergency vet bill. Ouch. Dog owners please be careful.
Yes, it's interesting how something that isn't toxic to humans can be so bad for other animals. I thought it was just dogs, but you're right - other animals are affected too. So cat owners beware as well! All pet owners, as a matter of a fact.