Ways to combat lack of appetite and vomiting?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrZorak

Reaction score
I recently bought a hestiasula sp boxer mantis and it died within a week. It had molted during shipping and also vomited (the less threatening brown vomit). It seemed generally OK, I had put it in a 32 oz deli cup and it was visably drinking water spray over the week I had it, but was rejecting food. It vomited once more after arrival, but stopped after that. Then, a couple days ago, I found that it had simply keeled over. 

Is it a case of just being a fragile, particularly small mantis? This is my first time experiencing winter shipping, should mortality rates be very expected even with heat packs? 

Last edited by a moderator:
This sounds like black death, caused by bad feeders, usually crix. The vomit color can range from pale brown to dark black, and usually has an odor. If the nymph had been a bit bigger and stronger, it could have been saved by watered-down honey, which has antibiotic properties. Young nymphs do not usually pull through though. 

This can be prevented by feeding healthy insects, and making sure no mold is in the cage of the feeder or the mantis. 

It also could have been an injury during molting, but I find that less likely, as most molting injuries kill or cripple the mantis immediately. 

- MantisGirl13