Rhombodera (unknown sp. - HELP!) Mating, Ooth

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Precarious

Reaction score
I have 2 adult females successfully mated with my lone male. He stayed mounted for 25 and a half hours!

Still looking for identification.

Anyone know how to distinguish stalii from other sp.? I was told by one of my contacts these may be Rhombodera sp. new to culture. Shield appears broader than stalii but I have no previous experience with Rhombodera so have to go by photos online.

Females are about 3.6", which is larger than both my Sphodromantis sp. and viridis females!

Male is 3.35", not longer but much broader than Sphodromantis sp. and viridis.

Extensive photos of pre-sub female here:

http://mantidforum.n...showtopic=22221

Would like to identify before I start selling nymphs. ;)

Gravid Female

gravid_5444-sm.jpg

First Coupling

eRhombo_5324-sm.jpg

eRhombo_5321-sm.jpg

eRhombo_5322-sm.jpg

First Ooth

eRhomboooth_5496-sm.jpg

Ooth is as long as an Idolo ooth and literally larger than her abdomen!

Congrates! That is one impressive ooth! I want to say Rh. valida but there's been too many discussions on this genus so I don't know. All the best and looking forward to see tons of nymphs hatching out :)

Congrates! That is one impressive ooth! I want to say Rh. valida but there's been too many discussions on this genus so I don't know. All the best and looking forward to see tons of nymphs hatching out :)
Thanks, Yen! I consider you THE authority so your input is important to me. I saw you just posted stallii nymphs. Are these too big to be stallii?

what is the tiny ooth on the stick behind her?