Glass vs. Plastic

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

• Plastic

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • Glass

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

QiGongGuy

Reaction score
:? I'm new at this and I'm buying two orchid mantises from Yen (yen_saw). He's very helpful but I want to get opinions from as many people as possible.Should I get glass or plastic cages for them? How big should the cages be? Will I need heaters? Should I put my orchid plants inside?PLEASE HELP!!!

Plastic is best, cheaper and easier to clean and wont break so easily..if you get a heater use a good 'ol heatmat, ive got a 6"x11" one, you can get them in 6"x6" too, they can be use to heat a few tanks, or loads of cups/pots..

Good luck with your orchids!

I use plastic deli cups until they outgrow them then they go into a divided 2 1/2 gallon glass tank. What you house them in is up to you. Unless you keep the room cold you don';t need a heat mat. I keep my mine at normal room temperatures and they do fine.

Last edited by a moderator:
You will find plastic has some advantages, read on.

Be sure to leave enough unobstructed vertical room for molting. A bad molt is the most common reason for loss. Orchids do best on flying food as they wait for the prey to approach, rather than stalk their dinner, so flies are the best inexpensive food source, and easiest to feed. Have a seperate feeding hole with a foam stopper so it is easy to feed without taking the lid off, so you minimize escaping flies, and crushing mantis. Unless you cut glass, plastic is the way to go!!

You can see several plastic containers at my website, www.mantisplace.com

:D QiGongGuy, since you asked and are taking a poll and this is the main business I have been in with hubby for 20 years I feel I need to give what info I can about the different materials here without being to technical.

The different in materials are as follows: