H. Venosa won't eat!

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crabbypatty

aka Mad Mantis
Reaction score
I have a sub adult h. venosa and she's not eating. Last time she ate was five days ago, then three days ago she threw up some brown stuff and she passed a large watery poop, she might have eaten too much. Her poop right now isn't a pellet which is what she normally poops, she's pooping what looks like green jelly blobs, she's otherwise fine, still moves around and is drinking water. This is my first time with a sub adult, so not familiar with a lot of things. She's currently hanging on the lid of her enclosure. Is this normal? I'm starting to worry:(

The not eating could be a sign that she is about to molt but the other symptoms you mentioned be be indicative of another issue. Unfortunately these things happen and we really don't know the causes. Perhaps disinfect her enclosure and make sure she is at the correct temperatures and wait to see if she recovers. 

Her hanging on the lid of her enclosure is normal, the rest isn't.

Often if they overeat they will vomit some of it back up, likely to clear room; however, if she basically has diarrhea (not normal frass, and much more wet) that means whatever she last ate did not agree with her stomach. The best you can do to help is keep her hydrated as diarrhea causes fluid loss - do that by misting her enclosure a bit more than normal ensuring there are water droplets she can drink too. As I read you said she is drinking, and that is great.