Is it easy to get crickets & cockroaches to breed?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maybon

Reaction score
I was told at my local pet shop today that cockroaches are easy to breed just by feeding them some veggies & providing some hiding spots with egg cartons.

I was wondering if crickets would be just as easy.

If I was to do this should I be feeding the insects a specific diet to ensure the nutrients are passed on to my mantids?

Roaches are a lot easier and smell far less than crickets. I feed my roaches chicken mash and veggie scraps. You can always dust your feeders too
what do you mean by dusting? Calcium powder? I am new to this whole hobby & am trying to learn quickly :smarty:

If it is calcium powder is that it or should I get a mixture of different stuff? P.S i heard cat food was good can I use this instead of chicken + veggies?

I' recommend that, for a start, you breed cockroaches. Actually, it is much easier, given the right temp, to breed them than not! Google your particular species and you will find a lot of helpful advice. I would suggest that the smaller species are generally more useful for mantis food. Do remember, though, that roaches will "hide and freeze" when introduced to mantids who only attack moving prey, so you may find it easier to either feed them directly, with forceps, or in an environment, like an undecorated 32oz pot, where they cannot hide.

It is well established that mantids are "tritrophic feeders' in that they can benefit from the nutrients absorbed by their prey, but don't worry about it beyond making sure that your roaches, in addition to their favorite fruit and veggies, receive some animal protein, usually in the form of dog or cat food. I grind mine, because i have several nifty grinders, but it is not essential.