Last instar?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alimama

Reaction score
Its my first time raising mantids and Im freaking out. I have 4 of them and I just went to check on them and 2 have just molted and sprung wings. Im attaching pictures. One is hanging and has the molt attached to one of his lets. The other is on the bottom of the cage and is laying on her side and has deformed wings and deformed rear legs! I feel so terrible. My questions: 1) Is there anytihing I can do to save the deformed one?and 2) should I help pull the molt off the normal one. 3) Is this the last instar?

IMG_8891.JPG

IMG_8894.JPG

IMG_8897.JPG

Addendum: I took the molting off the leg of the  "normal" one and it, too, has a deformity. He has 3 knees instead of one and he has been "grooming" one of the knees that has some excess tissue on it.Is there anything I should do, like cut off part f the leg? I feel awful.

They have wings they are adults. Deformed wings alone usually don't cause problems as for the legs and what to do, I'm not sure. Since they won't molt again their legs/wings probably won't heal. There are probably some things others on the forum can tell you to help them. 

Congratulations on two adult molts! Don’t blame yourself for the deformities. From what you’ve said, neither sounds fatal. Just be on the lookout for any signs of internal injuries. If they start to act lethargic or they start spasming that could a bad sign. You can offer them 100% pure and raw honey with water just in case.

As for your questions, 

1). There’s nothing you can do to fix these deformities. Both mantids are now adults and will not molt again, and so the damaged rear legs are not life-threatening. However, they also will no be able to fix themselves, so the injuries are permanent, but shouldn’t present any concerns.

3). Yes, this is the last instar.