Looking for a project to take on with empty aquariums?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reptiliatus

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I have been keeping exotics for about 14 years now and a result of that passion is that I always have a few aquariums lying around ("empty tank syndrome", if you feel me ;) ). I stumbled on a fellow tarantula breeder's video a few years ago and

decided to apply a similar design to housing my mantids. The result is what you see here. I have made a few modifications however. Although the mantids will have ample climbing space with a large plant situated in the enclosure, I ho glue gunned plastic clear mesh to the roof, and side walls of the enclosure to ensure ample surface area. The roof is especially important for moulting. I would even suggest gluing a few sticks/branches over that for larger species.

So long as you are using low wattage florescent lighting, putting a lighting hood on the glass roof is no issue and the plants within will still receive plenty of ample light.

I highly recommend Ficus benjamina as a plant candidate for this style of enclosure but for those of you who don't want to risk it (after looking at your hand to discover there isn't a green thumb) you can go with good old Pothos. Hard to kill this species even if you wanted to xD. I actually don't remove them from their pots and just stick them into the bottom of the tank, covering the area around it with soil afterwards. Remember to give your plants a REALLY, REALLY good rinse before using them in your insect enclosures to wash off pesticides. I would even consider repotting them to be safe. For me I would by my small potted pothos in the summer, let them grow on my deck a few weeks (rain washes the chemicals away, etc) and then used them in my enclosure designs.