Outdoor Mantis Enclosure?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thamnophis X

Reaction score
I used the search option and didn't find anything, but if I made a mistake I apologize. I was curious to see if anyone ever used or made an outdoor enclosure for any of their mantids? I've only had one Chinese mantis before last spring, but it passed away, so I am a mantis novice for certain. Feel free to tell me this whole thing is a bad idea, even just because of my experience level, I won't be offended.

I am aware you couldn't do this with a foreign species because there is a risk of escape. But I had an idea to maybe section off a small part of where my house's old garden used to be and starting it back up with things a mantis could climb and hangout on. Then I was thinking I could find a very fine mesh and somehow make a little tent like enclosure over it to house the mantis but still allow enough sunlight for the plants to be healthy. Has anyone done something like this? I know that there is cylinder mesh enclosures (I think they're called butterfly keepers? Idk), but I wanted something more sturdy.

Maybe an alternative to this would be a garden pot with whatever planted in it, and I could drive a few stakes or skewers and lay the mesh over that, and secure it somehow. That way I could move it to wherever as needed. I plan on bringing the mantis indoor in a separate enclosure during the winter to live out the rest of it's life safe from the cold.