Potential new mantid owner - tips please?

Mantidforum

Help Support Mantidforum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maybon

Reaction score
Hey so I am a biology student & during my course we did entemology and I have loved mantids for ever, I did an insect collection last year & had to kill one... which was rather sad however I did end up finding a very good spot to catch them (caught about 5 adults in 15minutes). I went late in the breeding cycle, I am planning on going today and catching some and hopefully starting up a little colony (seperate containers of course) but i plan to breed them later on so that I can have babbies & keep them into next year and hopefully longer.

So I plan to catch some mantids (they are about 4" & green) I will post a picture if I catch any later today. I also want to make my own enclosure's for them and was wondering some basic stuff.

1. Should I include a patch of live grass & dirt as flooring (for a natural feel since they are wild ones)?

2. Can I keep baby mantids in an enclosure sized for them as adults or is it best to keep them in small containers (note i have planned to do the later but was wondering)

3. What materials will I need to make an enclosure (I am decent at crafting things with wood etc...)

4. Do i need a heat lamp & how often should I mist (I am from Melbourne Australia & its not a humid climate and can range from ~5ºC-45ºC through the year)

5. Will I need a light for my enclosure/s and if so what sort? Eg UV, heat, regular, soft or bright light?

6. Any other tips that will be helpful? I know about removing food if they are about to molt and trying to not over mist to prevent mold growth (any tips on not getting mold)